It’s Raining, It’s Snowing, I’m Missing the Sunshine

IMGP2240It’s the third straight day of precipitation and it’s been grey and overcast the entire time.  Colorado has over 300 days (or partial days at least) of sunshine but apparently Maine does not. It is very green here, MaineRain with lush lawns all year long and that’s pretty understandable with 3 to 4 inches of rain Each month of the year.

If you’re a Star Trek fan like me you’ll understand when I say that I’m beginning to understand why the Ferengi have 178 words for rain.  Even after an extensive online search, I could only come up with a handful of  words for rain, so I made up a few of my own for some of the rain and snow I’ve seen in the last 3 days.

  • Mistain – Fog or mist that’s so heavy it approaches a light rain
  • Trizzle – a drizzle rain of really tiny drops
  • Sleetle – a light rain with some drops that are slushy
  • Sprinkow – snow shower of tiny, sugar like flakes
  • Puffow – snow made up of “puffs” or clumps of snowflakes

IMGP2243

Leave a Reply

