Hello 2016

DSCN2182
I’ve often had a hard time with New Year’s Eve.  Looking backward is often hard but for me doing it at the end of an often stressful holiday season just didn’t work out well for me.  So with the major changes of the last few months I decided I wanted to find a positive way to Start the new year.  Since I’m now on the East coast it seemed like a no-brainer to start the year by watching the sun rise.  We decided to head to Acadia National Park and took a ranger’s advice to head down along the only small piece of the park loop road that’s open during the winter.IMGP2326

Now I’m NOT a morning person so this was actually kind of a big deal for me – especially since the coast is an hour and half drive.  So we gathered everything we needed for the next morning, such as cameras, jackets, supplies for the puppies so they didn’t get left at home, maps and snacks, the evening before.  When the alarm went off at 3:45 (after going to bed around 11PM) I started off great by not throwing the thing across the room.  Up by 4 and out the door by 5:15 – washed up and dressed, puppies and us with at least something in our stomachs.  Still don’t know why it took me over an hour to get ready but I told you I’m Not a morning person already, right?

An hour and a half later and only 1 wrong turn, we made a quick stop at the  first ocean view outlook we hit as it was already light out, even though the sun wasn’t up yet.DSCN2004B

IMGP2331We then headed farther south to an area that faced south east for a clear view of the sunrise across the water.  We ended up at Thunder Hole.  The conditions weren’t right for the waves to be crashing and thundering but it was for the best as I wanted pictures of the sunrise while staying Dry in the below freezing temperatures.

 

It was pretty cloudy, especially just off shore so the sunrise wasn’t as pretty as I’d hoped.  But it wasn’t raining, there was almost no wind, there was only 6 other people at the spot we picked, the waves made a very pleasant sound without getting me wet, and Ted and I really enjoyed just standing there watching the sun and clouds and waves and the occasional DSCN2190bird for about an hour.  So it wasn’t spectacular and I didn’t get a picture worth hanging on the wall but I did spend a special morning with my loving husband who agreed to this outing with no complaints, I set a goal – although a small one – and met it, I started the year off on a good note looking forward rather than back, and I’m going to do my darnedest to keep looking at the bright side and moving forward and all that good shit.

DSCN2167

DSCN2160

2 thoughts on “Hello 2016

  1. What a beautiful way to start the new year. Sometimes a less-than-perfect sunrise makes for the most gorgeous pictures, and you got them. I look forward to your “musings” every day. Thank you for letting us all share your adventure. Oh, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Like

Leave a Reply

